Delivery is everything!

 

 

 

 

I’ve attended many church sermons in my life, some thoroughly relevant, while others have sometimes been somewhat mundane and more or less lost me in the message. But I am happy to say that today, I attended church where the assistant pastor gave the sermon in the head pastor’s absence. Let’s just say that I couldn’t be happier that I chose today to attend.

The assistant pastor spoke of the importance of a man showing honor to his wife. He made note of 1Peter 3:7, where the bible says that a husband should dwell with his wife. He supported the scripture by stating  that not a day should go by where a husband neglects to remind his wife of how beautiful,special, and loved she is.  He went on to reinforce that a man that finds a wife, finds a good thing and that a wife is a man’s prize and/or gift from God. The man’s role is as a protector and a provider for his wife. As I sat there taking in his message, I realized how much what was being said resonated with me and to many others in attendance as they confirmed their agreement in audible shouts of uplifting acknowledgement. Now, as I said earlier, I’ve heard many sermons, and this pastor didn’t have any particular style that stood out. But what did hit home was in the way he delivered his message.

This pastor delivered today’s sermon with a grin, one that was almost out of place, but the message itself and his ability to weave himself throughout the fabric of the content, made it a standout sermon in my mind. I was even led to jot down a few notes while he spoke. It was the kind of message that should have been recorded and played back to the masses so that it could help someone later on down the road. There’s no doubt in my mind that it would indeed strike a chord in someone’s spirit, some where.

I was so moved that I had to approach this pastor after service ended and commend him on his powerful message. Surprisingly, he responded with the same laid back, casual demeanor and grin he always has; almost as if he hadn’t delivered a message at all. I guess that’s just the way he is; a humble spirit. Evidently, it works well for him. I’m not sure if he truly realizes how important the words he spoke meant to not only me as a woman, but the rest of the congregation in attendance. This was a message that needed to be said, but more importantly, it needed to be heard.

On Sunday mornings, I try to start my day by listening to Pastor Joel Osteen at 9:00 am. Interestingly, he delivered a similar message this morning but provided a kind of flip side to the pastor’s message I later heard at church today. Pastor Osteen expressed the importance of a wife finding one thing that she could praise her husband for and practice finding something positive daily and he referred to this as pouring honor into your husband and marriage. Pastor Osteen said that the wife is in control of what he termed the honor faucet. In other words, the more she, the wife, turns this faucet on with her positive words of encouragement, the more honor will flow throughout the marriage. Pastor Osteen believes that doing this regularly will bring about amazing results.

Needless to say, when I heard the pastor begin to deliver his sermon in church, I immediately recognized the parallel to Pastor Olsteen’s earlier message. It was truly an aha moment for meBut I can’t help but wonder, had I not heard Pastor Osteen’s message first this morning, would the pastor’s sermon I heard at church have moved me as much? I think it would have regardless because a big part of what made it work was in the delivery. After all, delivery is everything!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lucylula
    May 25, 2014 @ 23:12:31

    I LOVE THIS SYLVIA!!! Your writing has such a continuous rhythmic flow to it with interesting detail. It keeps me captivated and wanting to continue reading. I love your style which in turn gives me someone to emulate. Continue on…..

    Like

    Reply

    • sporterhall
      May 26, 2014 @ 03:59:21

      Ohh…thank you so much lucylula! Such encouraging words! Needed to hear them. Sometimes I feel like I’m writing into a deep whole but I will keep writing….especially with words such as yours that entice me to go on! So glad you enjoyed the post!

      Like

      Reply

  2. lucylula
    May 25, 2014 @ 23:13:10

    And you are so right Delivery is everything..and you are Delivering!!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

May 2014
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,891 other followers

Follow sporterhall on WordPress.com
sporterhall

Calling all conversations!! What say you?

bornofGod

Sharing my walk with Jesus Christ & helping encourage other Believers!

Toast and Tea

Express Yourself in Beautifully Webbed Words

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Ana Spoke, author

It's time to get hella serious about writing!

peculiarpetunia

a journey to becoming different

Gringa of the Barrio

A Sassy Barrio Gringa Telling It Like It Is

Rebirth of Lisa

Author, Blogger, Poet and Freelance Writer

Alligator Juniper

A literary magazine from the high desert of Arizona

The Main Focus

Embracing Life Today In A Creative Way

Echo Chamberz

A Spoken Word Exhibition and Celebration of Lyricism

mermaidcamp

Keeping current in wellness, in and out of the water

SongSmith

#1 source for songwriting news and development.

