Is This Thing On?

I’m in a bit of a tizzy right now…a predicament of sorts. You see, I’ve been writing posts to this blog for a little while now and I am somewhat puzzled. I spend a lot of time on my posts, sometimes hours per post to ensure that the content is of quality, that my facts are straight, and that my opinions don’t offend anyone. It is very disappointing to realize that even after all that, hardly no one seems to be reading these posts. I’m truly at a loss as to why this may be. So, I now look to you, the ‘potential’ reader, to help me with this.

I need to know, is it the content? Could it be that the quality that I think and hope is here, truly isn’t? Is it that my posts are being read, but you the reader(s) simply have no comment? I find this hard to believe as I try and cover a wide range of topics and always welcome feedback and comments. Sure, I receive a few comments from consistently loyal bloggers and even some likes here and there, all of which I appreciate to the fullest. However, in the grand scheme of things, I mostly hear crickets!

I’ve read a lot of blogs since I recently entered this arena. Many are beautifully creative and chocked with information, while others are often crass to the point of offensiveness. I personally, refuse to go that route for the sake of huge numbers and readership. So, consider me a bit of an old-school person who simply believes in achieving goals the old-fashioned way – through consistent, hard work….one post, one article at a time.

So, fellow bloggers…I could really use your help. Are there topics that I haven’t yet touched on that you’d like to read about from my perspective? If this is the case, what are some of those topics? Please know that I am not shy when it comes to controversial topics either. I’d be more than happy to take a shot at bringing your subject to life while hopefully moving you enough to chime in! So, consider this an invite. Let me know you’re out there and that indeed….this thing is on!

By Sylvia Porter-Hall

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tim Taylor
    Jul 22, 2014 @ 16:47:25

    Yep, it’s on πŸ™‚ I have found since startin’ my blog in May that readers can be a fickle sort. It’s not really WHAT you post about or even the format that you present it in. It all lies in the reader of said post. I write what I feel and I don’t have a particular theme to my blog in respect to content. I have been told that I have a unique writin’ “voice” that “draws” people in. You yourself also have a “voice”.

    My advice? Use that voice as you see fit, use it for you own benefit. Your blog is yours and if you’re happy with it and the subjects you post about then keep doin’ what you’re doin’. Like they say, “If you build it, they will come”. Maybe just not as fast as you’d like sometimes πŸ™‚

    Keep up the awesome work!

    Like

    Reply

    • sporterhall
      Jul 22, 2014 @ 16:58:31

      Wow! Thank you so much for such an awesome response. Honestly, If I don’t receive not even one other comment on this post, I will be good with that. I am happy with my posts and the content. Your comment makes all the difference and has definitely inspired me to keep on doin’ what I’m doin’. Thank you for letting me know that this thing is on! Have a wonderful day! πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply

  2. field of thorns
    Jul 23, 2014 @ 01:55:41

    Hi Sylvia,

    I like what Tim Taylor had to say. I believe there is a lot of truth found in his words. Somehow the blog world reminds me of high school, remember the cliques? Maybe it’s just finding the right group of bloggers, and a few friendly faces. You have a wonderful written voice and very warm and friendly presence. I can’t thank you enough for reaching out to me. The readers will come.

    Warm wishes,
    Pepper

    Like

    Reply

    • sporterhall
      Jul 23, 2014 @ 02:20:15

      Thank you so much for commenting Pepper. I like what Tim Taylor had to say also and my day is made again with what you had to say as well! Yes, I remember all too well the cliques! Unfortunately, this still exists in some of the social media arenas. I find that some people haven’t changed much over time and still only interact with certain “chosen” ones if you will. Thank you for your kind words and for reaching out and meeting me half way. Your words of encouragement mean so much!

      Best wishes,
      Sylvia

      Like

      Reply

  3. D'aller Naturel
    Jul 23, 2014 @ 20:59:31

    The other two comments are spot on. I don’t know how active you are in reviewing your stats page, but from what I can glean from mine, I have far more readers (on average 46/day) than I do followers (less than 100 since I launched 3 months ago), and a handful (mostly you! lol) of people who ever leave comments. I don’t know that people don’t have anything to say. But I have a hunch that people like topics that either 1) are quick and easy to respond to (like food recipes, e.g., “mmmm,” or “that looks tasty”) or 2) boil their blood so badly that they have to say something…positive or negative. Happy readers generally don’t have anything to say and (if they don’t have a blog of their own), often forget to “like” at the very least.

    So I’m in agreement with the rest–it’s your blog. Do what you want with it. Followers will come eventually.

    Like

    Reply

  4. forgottenmeadows
    Jul 25, 2014 @ 14:15:29

    Hi Sylvia, I agree with the first comment…it is difficult to find the “perfect” formula in blogging, especially when you are starting off…initially I did not know what was it I wasn’t doing right…Like you I believe in putting in the work to see results and I also write cause it is something I love to do but having a readership always feels nice πŸ™‚ …I think you are on the right track with your posts, I really enjoy your writing! I didn’t realize that though I was following your blog it was not showing up on my reader but I think I have fixed that problem now… It is great that you are connecting with other bloggers…the more you connect the more people know about your blog and though it may take a while readership will follow πŸ™‚ Hope that helps a little bit…Have a wonderful weekend and my best wishes to you always πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply

    • sporterhall
      Jul 25, 2014 @ 14:29:45

      Hi there! Thank you so much for such beautiful words of encouragement and for taking the time to comment. You’re response is so in line with my purpose for my post. Being that I am a person who loves to communicate with others,I find it hard sometimes when reaching out to others and they don’t reach back. But I’ve received some lovely comments along with yours and I so appreciate it. I too enjoy your work so much and love reading about where your thoughts take you. It’s interesting that you say that my posts were not showing up in your reader. Another blogger, Ihsan(iithinks) once told me the same thing. Now that you’re saying it too, I wonder if that could be part of the problem. Maybe my posts aren’t showing up in other bloggers readers either. Hummm! In the meantime, I will just keep writing and have faith that the readers will come. Like Tim Taylor said in his comment, “If you build it, they will come”. Before I forget, thank you for now following my ‘narrative’ blog as well as my ‘poetry’ blog! All the best to you and keep sharing your beautiful work. I look forward to reading so much more from you! πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply

  5. forgottenmeadows
    Jul 25, 2014 @ 14:23:42

    Also, one other tip is adding pictures in between your posts to break up the writing a bit πŸ™‚ Personally I will read it regardless of the post having a picture or not as I enjoy reading, but many readers today are multi-taskers and try to grasp information as quickly as they can… so laying out a format that will be easiest to read and connect with often helps πŸ™‚ ( Then again this is just my observation :D)

    Like

    Reply

    • sporterhall
      Jul 26, 2014 @ 02:17:29

      Thank you! I welcome and appreciate any tips you may have! I am very conversational and it really comes through in my writing. I will see how I can add images to my posts, but no doubt, the words will surely come rushing back…lol! Thank you again! I so appreciate your comments! πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply

  6. foreverisreallytomorrow
    Jul 30, 2014 @ 02:40:08

    Hello there. As I informed you when I began following your blog, I feel believe you showcase great writing, and your blog is very well put together. With that being said I would like to nominate this blog for the OLBA(One Lovely Blog Award).

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

July 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,006 other followers

Follow sporterhall on WordPress.com
sporterhall

Calling all conversations!! What say you?

bornofGod

Sharing my walk with Jesus Christ & helping encourage other Believers!

Toast and Tea

Express Yourself in Beautifully Webbed Words

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Ana Spoke, author

It's time to get hella serious about writing!

peculiarpetunia

a journey to becoming different

Gringa of the Barrio

A Sassy Barrio Gringa Telling It Like It Is

Rebirth of Lisa

Author, Blogger, Poet and Freelance Writer

Alligator Juniper

A literary magazine from the high desert of Arizona

The Main Focus

Embracing Life Today In A Creative Way

Echo Chamberz

A Spoken Word Exhibition and Celebration of Lyricism

mermaidcamp

Keeping current in wellness, in and out of the water

SongSmith

#1 source for songwriting news and development.

